The Note

Ademilola Adewumi
4 min readJul 9, 2020

--

The rain poured heavily as I looked out the window. It was as if the skies knew what had happened and sent the clouds to weep with me. I clutched the note to my chest singing her favorite song. Gen loved to sing to annoy me and I often chastised her for it . She would go on daily just to get on my nerves hurting my ears and not that she wasn’t any good -oh Gen was the best singer I ever came across -but she said annoying me was the best way to get my attention. It became a hobby, a habit and a little game to her. Gen always joked that God made us twins because he knew if I was more than a day older I would be a bully. She wasn’t wrong. A tear drop escaped from eyes and betrayed the strength I tried to feign. I walked to the room we shared to get a glimpse of what my sister was before she left me. Our apartment was a two-bedroom beauty bought by our parents as a birthday gift to us. Right from birth we’ve been inseparable, I was the protector and she was the care-taker. My aggressive and violent nature gave me the ability to protect my sister from bullies or anyone who hurt her and her caring nature gave her the ability to take care of me in a way I didn’t know how, emotionally. Her bed was the same as it was before she left, neatly made with some of her clothes in a neat pile. My eyes caught sight of the scarf I gave her on our 16th birthday, she said it was her happy charm and always wore it to sleep any day she had a bad day. I inhaled her scent on the scarf, it felt like roses and honey invaded my nose accompanied with a drizzle of rain. It was so beautiful, I used it to wipe more tears and I felt the note in my hands. I straightened it and kept in neatly on the bed while I wrapped myself with the scarf the way Gen always did to me when I broke down in front of her. My moment of closure was interrupted by the sound of the doorbell.

Detective Shaw and his rookie assistant were at my door. In another time I would be excited at the appearance of the rookie, he always seemed to find his way to the floor even while staring at it as he walked. His fall always filled me with joy, but not today, not when I didn’t have my Gen anymore. Gen always went with her emotions and never used her head to think. She used to believe everyone was as good as her and trusted everyone, I always shielded her from the evils of this world but she grew older and started discovering them by herself in every man she allowed use her. Gen came home this very day with a man who promised to marry her but I knew better. I saw through him and just like the others, he wasn’t here for her beauty or personality he was here for her money. When he left I let Gen know the contents of my mind and thinking I didn’t want her happy she fired back. I had never seen Gen get as angry as she did, she said horrible things to me just because of that money hungry man. The next morning, I woke up to her bed made, some clothes neatly piled by the corner and a note on top of her pillow, she said she would rather live with him and prove that he loved her for her and not for her money. I filed a missing person’s report, The usual protocol was 48 hours, but money doesn’t follow any protocol. I gave Detective Shaw her picture and the look on his face was the same as everyone who first found out Gen and I were twins. Gen wasn’t as pretty as me, she had a lighter complexion with dark spots on her face, a Lazy eye and one too many tooth, her hair was as beautiful as mine -ebony black with that silky feeling. Asides her hair the only similarity we had was our oblong shape of face. He left as soon as he got her details.

10 years had passed and still no words from my sister, either she didn’t want to be found or the police and private detectives I hired are idiots. I’d go with the latter because I don’t want to believe my own sister would stay far away from me. I decided to dedicate my life in search of my sister and end the life of the one who took her from me. If you want something done you do it yourself. I went through the notes of the detectives as I tried to find what the idiots missed.

To be continued…..

--

--

Ademilola Adewumi

A psychology student. A writer. I love God, music and cookies.