How do I let go?

Ademilola Adewumi
2 min readMar 12, 2021

--

I once had a black pen. I can’t quite remember the brand but I think it was “Leo smart” or something like that. The glass casing of the pen felt smooth whenever I wrote, the nib of the pen was sharp and I enjoyed writing in cursive. A day came, the pen fell and a part of the glass casing at the tip of the pen broke. It became difficult to write with the pen. Every time I tried to write, the ink kept falling out of the casing making writing less enjoyable for me. The pen was so beautiful and I did not want to throw it away because I loved it. A week later on my way back from school, my pen fell in the school bus and I couldn’t find it anymore. My mother had to get me a new one and once I started using the it I didn’t realize how much I needed it.

There are things or people that are currently in our lives that are bad for our mental health and we can’t just “throw” them away simply because we don’t know how to or we’re scared of how our lives would be if we did. I remember when I watched the first season of “You”, I thought to myself, Beck’s best friend is so toxic, why is she still friends with her? It wasn’t until she died that Beck realized how much her friend affected her mental health(by the way when are you guys going to give us season 3?because I am too excited)

I’ve had things, habits, people that were not good for me but I kept around because I was scared of how things would be in my life if I let them go. I was scared of how I would cope and if I would even cope. Fortunately, circumstances helped me “throw” them away. so If you ask me, “Jema how do I let go?”, I would tell you “I don’t know” so when you do please let me know.

--

--

Ademilola Adewumi

A psychology student. A writer. I love God, music and cookies.